Posted on

IT’S OFFICIAL: >50 PEOPLE?!

Wow. At the last count, 51 people have signed up. Three more came this afternoon. This is crazy! I’m trying to keep the cast as close to 20 as possible. 25 at the most. I couldn’t take any more than that. However, that does mean that over half of everyone who auditions will be unsuccessful. I hate disappointing people, it sucks! And I’d just like to say now that it does not make a difference if:

  • you have been in every Shakespeare or main school production since Year 7
  • you desperately want a certain part
  • you have previous experience of working with other auditionees
  • you’re older than other auditionees
  • you do GCSE Drama
  • you think you and another auditionee would work really well as two characters

Yeah, that’s all I can think of. I know the Shakespeare production has a reputation for letting anyone and everyone in, for being really easy to get a good part in, for not being as serious and professional as main school, and I can’t really comment. This year has record numbers of auditionees, however, and please do no think that just because I’m not Miss Slater, you can talk me into giving you a part. Not happening.

On a lighter note, everyone I saw today was very very good! Well done, I was not expecting first day auditions to be quite so good. 🙂 It really makes me happy and takes my mind off being very slightly depressed now that, simply put, I am single. I’m simultaneously excited about and slightly scared of the huge rush of auditions which will happen in the next few days. Good luck!

About carambalache

I'm 22 years old, and am in my final year reading Modern Languages at Oxford. I live in Oxford but spent the previous academic year working in Madrid. I run a Facebook group for people of colour who are interested in makeup - search "Beauty of Colour" on Facebook if you'd like to join. I'm interested in the Spanish Golden Age, social media as a concept, the cosmetic industry, foreign languages, mythology, liberation activism and fashion. I also write about Oxford admissions, so please get in contact if you have any questions about studying Modern Languages or life at Oxford. Email me at chiara.giovanni13@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

